Hello, I’m Aimi from the U.S.A

The most amazing part of this experience thus far is definitely the various people I’ve encountered and befriended, both the Thai’s and my fellow exchange students from all over the world. It fascinates me to learn about all these different cultures, characteristics, terminologies and misconceptions about each country and their culture. Also, it’s quite funny (sometimes embarrassing) to discover how others view American’s! I will try to get video footage one of these days to share with you all.

Getting back to all the people I’ve met so far. Well, generally speaking the Thai’s are absolutely amazing people!! Prior to my arrival in Thailand I’d always hear how kind and hospitable the people are here but I had to see it for myself and it’s absolutely true. Everyday has been quite a challenge when I have to struggle communicating with people to get around, to order food, to purchase anything, directions, general questions….yea, you get the idea. Thankfully the Thai’s are very patient and willing to help in almost every situation. At school, my Thai classmates are the cutest ever. They are very excited to meet us (exchange students) and share their culture with us. I found this to be consistent in almost every Thai student I’ve met; they are so willing to help us around, teach us their language and share their international experiences with us.

I have yet to meet all the exchange students this semester but I’ve definitely met the majority and they are also wonderful! I’ve truly enjoyed talking to everyone and getting to know so many people who are quite different but at the same time similar in the sense that we have THIS experience/interest in common. Next week our school will have a ‘Welcome Party’ for all the exchange students and I look forward to meeting everyone!!

August 12th is the Queen Sirikit’s Birthday which is also Mother’s day in Thailand. So, no school Thursday or Friday!!! First long weekend and travel plans are in the works. I do plan to travel for the next four days and will update once I return! Destination is still TBA.

Here are photos from the past couple days. Again, you can view the remaining photos at my flickr and watch random vids on my youtube channel. I will try to have more exciting photos & videos but just remember, I am here to study! So, you may not see too many touristy photos & vids until I make time to travel around.

08/10/10: Visited Khlong Toei Post office just before class to drop off some post cards and picked up stamps. This is the nearest post office in the district that I currently live in and it was good to know where it is. Now that I know how to get there, send me your addresses and I will gladly send you a postcard or little something from Thailand.

08/11/10: Met Aimmy in my Business Concepts & Ethics course. Had the opportunity to chat with her for a bit and she was so kind to help me with my Thai counting and some useful phrases.

I will be taking an intensive basic Thai language course offered by our university all of next week and possibly the following week to learn enough to get by (hopefully). I will also create a video of myself sharing what I’ve learned…so come back soon!

Leave a Reply

