I <3 Bangkok

I’ve officially failed in updating my blog as often as I would’ve liked to but I have been very busy holidaying. Oh yea, and studying of course. So please forgive me! I’ve also failed miserably in posting one photo a day but I will update on some of the highlights from the past few weeks.

We have just completed midterms last week which means it’s now beyond the halfway point…womp womp womp.

So much has happened since I’ve updated but most importantly.

I FINALLY GOT BED SHEETS!!! Due to my penny pinching tendencies, I’ve been sleeping without proper bed sheets and no blanket since I’ve arrived because I didn’t want to pay extra for cleaning service nor did I want to buy them. After many, many, many nights of sleeping in discomfort I decided to treat myself to new sheets, comforter and a hand-stamped duvet from our local night market. Needless to say, I’ve finally got some decent sleep!


Weekend getaway before midterms to Cha Am which is just approximately 100 miles South of Bangkok. The beach wasn’t that great, actually it was quite dirty but I really appreciated that there was not one foreigner in site! Instead, the beach was filled with Thai families. Definitely made for a good change of scenery.

Rented this bad boy and enjoyed my first time riding a tandem bicycle around town.

Situated myself here for about 7 hours. Read. Nap. Eat.

Sunset in Cha am.

Because it’s “uncool” to carry backpacks here at Chula…it’s cool to carry a Chula Laptop bag ya? Not at all! But I’m loving my new 5$ bag. woooo!

Lunch at Zen with some of my friends/classmates. left to right is, Pear, Punch, me and Alan.

One of the many small shops I’ve fallen in love with at our neighborhood night market. Suan Lum Night Bazaar. droool.

My adorable Aussie friend Jacqui has got a few of us obsessed with this book so of course I had to hop on the bandwagon and get myself one too. This coffee table book is very simple and filled with beautiful photography of local cafes, restaurants, art galleries & museums. Just Lovely!


Happy Birthday Chris!!


Reggae bar in Kanchanaburi on our first night. Quite interesting listening to Thai musicians in dreadlocks singing Bob Marley and plenty of greens. Met some cool people, some beer Chang and great talks.

Woke up early alongside River Kwai in Kanchanaburi, had breakfast and headed out for a hike to see the famous 7-tier waterfall, Erawan.

Well deserved dip at the 7th tier with the fishies. Beautiful hike.

Woke up to this view of River Kwai from our guesthouse. So relaxing.

Culture trip provided by Chulalongkorn. Spent half a day in Nakhon Pathom Province at the Rose Garden along River Tachin. This place is a huge tourist attraction which is really good for those who’d like to learn a little about traditional Thai life in just a few hours. We spent about 3 hours here and was able to experience traditional dancing and musical instrument, Garland Making & Fruit Carving, Traditional Pottery, Thai Martial Arts, Silk Processing, Traditional Weaving, Umbrella Painting, Thai Country Kitchen, Orchid Nursery, Thai Herbal Pavilion, Bamboo Dancing and Rice Farming. My favorite was the Thai Kitchen where I learned how to make sticky rice with banana and coconut wrapped in banana leaves and grilled. So simple and delicious!

Spent the later half of the day at the temple of Nakhon Pathom, Wat Phra Pathom Chedi.


Dinner with some of my favorite girls at Spring & Summer. This restaurant was featured in my “We Love Bangkok” book so we thought we’d give it a try. The restaurant interior appeared as a home boasting a beautiful staircase, bookshelves, comfy seating, large windows throughout and the food was also quite good. Unfortunately it rained the night we went but the concept of the restaurant is main course at “spring” and you can walk next door to “summer” for dessert with outdoor seating on the lawn. I will definitely visit again to experience summer.


Leave a Reply

