Yes, I am a Vegetarian.

Ok ok…so I’ve kept fish as an exception for the time being so technically I am a Pescatarian but man did it feel good to say this for the very first time! It’s been one full week since I decided to make the transition and no difficulties so far.

I’ve met more vegetarians during my time abroad than I’ve known my entire life and I always admire them for being so strong willed. I finally asked myself WHY do I choose to eat meat and the only response I can think of is because it’s easier to have more options and…it’s good. Just these two reasons set against the countless reasons why I should NOT eat meat made me feel downright….selfish.

Just 3 reasons why I, personally choose not to eat meat.

  • I choose not to support cruelty to animals. (ie. factory farming)

    This is not something we’d see in America because it’s hidden from us but I saw this disturbing image in Cambodia and immediately felt ill! Poor piggies.

  • I choose not to contribute to human starvation (ie:if all Americans became vegetarian, it would free enough grain to feed 600,000,000 people (the population of India))Spent half a day with these beautiful children in Cambodia and again, felt disgusted with myself that my actions are effecting precious lives all around the world.
  • & I choose not to destroy the gift of mother nature (land energy & water). (ie:Overgrazing by cattle is destroying the land & increasing desertification)I want to continue traveling and seeing beautiful scenery like this rice field in Laos. I hope my (future) kids will have the opportunity as well.

Now, I can continue eating with a clear conscience 🙂

Leave a Reply

