One week left: What’s next for Oimei Co.?

With just one week left to reach our fund raising goal on StartSomeGood.com; many people have been asking me what’s next for Oimei Co.?

Currently, we’ve raised just over 50% towards our goal with the support of 66 backers!!

A total of $4,210 so far! Our goal is $8,100 to fully implement the project.

  1. So what happens if I don’t reach my goal?
    I can still get things started! And will continue to search/apply for grants and other fund raising methods. Any suggestions? 😛
  2. What are we going to do with the money raised so far?
    The amount raised thus far will cover start up and pre-revenue costs listed on our campaign page. Here.

    I have been very fortunate with FREE help ranging from advice, logo design, media footage such as my campaign pitch, promo material for my campaign (fliers etc.) and even free food & beer from my dear friends who think I’ve gone mad. Though none of them expect anything in return, I’d love to reimburse them with a bit of cash or a nice home cooked meal!

    Aside from all the wonderful help; I’ve been doing everything else alone and it’s about time I get some expert help to pick up the speed! With the funds raised so far, I’ll be hiring someone for web development to get the site fully functioning properly. I will be visiting the artisan villages again (this time with some money) in the North of Thailand to gather more stories, footage and of course; pillows! There, I will also figure out the logistics and all that fun stuff which includes the cost of getting the goodies to the west (distribution). I will get some packaging and promotional material printed to get us started. Ultimately, many steps closer to getting our shop up!Not to worry, I will be keeping you updated each step of the way 😉

    All of this talk is getting me very excited to finally dive into what’s been months in planning and spreading the word. It will definitely be a lot of work BUTI’d like to announce that I’ve got myself a partner!I am very excited to have some extra hands and a friend alongside the journey. Soon, I will write a post introducing her and our plans for Oimei Co!

    For now; visit us on Facebook for a brief introduction of US.

  3. I’ve also been planning…yes, planning. As scatter brained as I am. I’ve been planning for the future; 6 mos. 1 year, 5 years?!? Many ideas in mind but the ultimate goal is getting the business to a point where it is self-sustainable so that we can support more artisans and their craft. Our hope is to gradually add more artisan partners and their beautiful goods to our shop. We will be updating frequently as we learn and grow. I hope this gives you a better idea of what’s next for Oimei Co!

Now, we have ONE WEEK left to reach our goal and

WE NEED YOUR HELP!!!

Please visit our Campaign page. Learn about our initiative. Donate and help us spread the word!

For other ways you can help: (click below)

A Chinese proverb to sum up thoughts for this post,

The journey is the reward.

So true. I will speak specifically about the journey of  this project which has been quite hazy from the very beginning. When I decided to start this project, I was totally lost in my mind not knowing what I should do next with my life; if I should go home, continue traveling or stay in Thailand. I was not able to work here due to my student visa so I was jobless and nearly out of money. A big part of me has been missing home, family and friends but somehow going home and searching for a job didn’t sit well with me.

When this idea came to mind, I have never felt so passionately and excited about anything else before. You hear this all the time; people telling you to do what you love and you’ll do well. It always seems like a load of crap right? Well, I’ve found something that has given me a purpose and something I enjoy. I know the chances of failing are high but I’ll keep trying.

This journey has and still is very confusing, scary and overwhelming at times. But it’s been nothing but beautiful. I’ve given up a lot of the “things” that used to keep me comfortable, I’ve opened myself up and embraced vulnerability and I try to share everything that I can…me. In return I’ve received so much support in this endeavor and I can not express how thankful I am for those of you who believe in me and this initiative.

Though the destination is unclear; the journey has definitely been a HUGE reward. Thanks to you 🙂

Thank you for all the LOVE.

Leave a Reply

